CRNA Schools That Don’t Require Shadowing

17 programs as of October 2026. Programs whose official pages say shadowing is recommended or not required. Shadowing still strengthens any application.

Built from each program’s official website and updated as programs change. Programs that do not state this requirement are not listed, so also check the full Program Finder. Always confirm with the program.

ProgramStateMin GPAICUCCRNGREDeadline
Loma Linda University
Loma Linda
CA3.001 yearPreferredNot statedMay 1 to Jul 1, 2027 for Autumn 2028 start
Florida Gulf Coast University
Fort Myers
FL3.001 yearNot statedRequiredDecember 15, 2026 (NursingCAS, for May 2027 matriculation)
Emory University
Decatur
GA3.001 yearPreferredNot statedJune 1 (priority) or Sept 1; opens March 1
Idaho State University
Meridian
ID3.001 yearPreferredNot statedJanuary 15
Newman University
Wichita
KS3.001 yearPreferredNot requiredAug 31 (opens June 1); cohorts start May
University of New England
Portland
ME3.001.5 yearsNot statedNot statedFeb 1, 2027 for Fall 2027 (opens Aug 7, 2026)
University of Maryland
Baltimore
MD3.002 yearsRequiredNot requiredJuly 1 (priority June 1); Summer 2027 cycle opens Jan 5, 2026
Michigan State University
East Lansing
MINot stated1 yearRequiredNot requiredApplications open April 1 to June 1
Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences
Rochester
MN3.252 yearsRequiredNot statedApril 1 to June 1
Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes-Jewish College
St. Louis
MO3.001 yearRequiredNot requiredMarch 1
Missouri State University
Springfield
MONot statedNot statedRequiredNot requiredJune 15, 2026 for Summer 2027 start (opens Mar 1, 2026)
University of Puerto Rico
San Juan
PR3.001 yearNot requiredNot requiredEarly decision Oct 31; regular Jan 31
Mount Marty University
Sioux Falls
SD3.001 yearPreferredNot statedJul 1 for Summer 2028 cohort (opens Apr 1)
University of Tennessee at Chattanooga / Erlanger
Chattanooga
TN3.002 yearsPreferredNot requiredMar 13, 2026 (5pm) for Spring 2027 start; documents by Apr 10, 2026
Vanderbilt University
Nashville
TN3.001 yearPreferredNot requiredMay 15, 2026 for May 2027 start (opened Mar 1, 2026)
Providence Sacred Heart / Gonzaga University
Spokane
WA3.001 yearRequiredNot requiredSep 1, 2027 for May 2028 start (opens Jan 15, 2027)
West Virginia University
Morgantown
WV3.001 yearNot statedNot requiredAug 1 to Nov 1 for Fall 2027; transcripts by Nov 15

Do you qualify for these programs?

Your free Readiness Score checks your GPA, ICU experience and certifications against every program.

Get my score

More CRNA school lists